Campfire Spoon Carving

I’m not much of an outdoorsman, but when I go camping, I bring my Sloyd bag–a satchel that holds a few knives, sharpening equipment, and some small pieces of wood to carve.

I was camping with my family not long ago, and between hikes and food prep, I found some time to whittle out a couple of spoons while sitting at the campfire.

Sloyd Spoons in Walnut 3-2015 - - 1

The wood is black walnut, which cuts nicely with a knife even when bone-dry, as this stock is.  Only you have to keep your knife extremely sharp.  I stopped to strop often.

I began with this little eating spoon and finished it off before starting on its big brother, a stirring spoon from the same wood.

Sloyd Spoons in Walnut 3-2015 - - 3

My Sloyd bag includes some card scrapers and a bit of sandpaper.  When I was finished sanding the spoons, I oiled them with the only thing I had on hand–nonstick cooking spray.  I’ll give them a proper finish later, but I wanted to see what they would look like with a bit of finish on them.

The shapes are a little unconventional, but in principle I like them.  I call them Gothic spoons, after the pointed arches of Medieval cathedrals.  I have been looking for a distinctive design for my lap-carved spoons, and I think I’ve found it.

This entry was posted in Wood and Woodwork. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Campfire Spoon Carving

  1. Bethany says:

    These are beautiful! But then, I’m sure you’re not surprised that I would show enthusiasm for something called “Gothic” 🙂

Join the Conversation:

