A New Ladle–For Me This Time

One of the more annoying kitchen implements we’ve owned is a plastic soup ladle.  We’ve probably had it as long as my wife and I have been married.  Aside from the design being awkward, the ladle imparted a plastic-ish taste to soups and stews if we left it in the pot too long.  So my wife finally commissioned a replacement.

Walnut Ladle 12-2014

The new walnut ladle with the old plastic one behind it. Yes, there is a large googly eye on my workbench. No, I don’t know why.

I worked on it on and off for the last few weeks.  Usually it takes me under an hour to make a spoon, but this one was special.  The wood had a nice crook in it, but also quite a bit of reversing grain in the bowl.  Plus, it took me some time to get the bowl deep enough.  I went back and forth between my gouge and my hook knife until the bowl looked right.

The finish is still curing, so I suppose we’ll hold off on serving soup for the next couple of days.  In the meantime, the old plastic ladle is being relegated to the kids’ play kitchen on the back porch.

This entry was posted in Woodenware and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Conversation:

