Green wood or seasoned wood for wooden spoons? Both!

The other day, a neighbor was clearing some brush and happened to cut down a cherry sapling.  I salvaged the trunk for spoon carving.  I split out eight usable blanks, all relatively straight.

I can carve out a spoon from seasoned wood pretty quickly using my gouge, drawknife, spokeshave, and card scrapers.  But I am not nearly fast enough with my Sloyd knives to carve all of these before they start to dry out.  So I decided on a hybrid approach.  I roughed out the handles with my hewing hatchet, and then I brought the blanks in to my workbench, where I roughed out the bowls with my gouge and did as much drawknife work as I could.  I spent about ten minutes on each one, and this is the result:

Cherry Spoons Roughed Out 4-2014

Now I’m setting the roughed-out spoons aside for two or three weeks to dry out a little.  Then I will go to work with my spokeshave and card scrapers, thinning down the bowls and handles, and smoothing everything out.  (My low-angle spokeshave works beautifully on dry wood, but not so well on green wood.)  When I’m done, I should have a few mixing spoons in two difference sizes, as well as a couple serving spoons.

Thus far, I really like this approach to spoon making.  The rough work goes much more quickly in green wood than it does in seasoned wood, and once the wood dries, the finer shaping work should be quick, too.

I will post pictures here once they are finished.

This entry was posted in Woodenware and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Conversation:

