Two for One: A Freehand Dublin and a Churchwarden Apple

Trying out materials from different suppliers is always an adventure.  Some time ago, I ordered a “medium” sized block of plateaux briar wood from a vendor who came highly recommended.  When I got the block in the mail, I was at a loss as to what to do with it–it was so big!  It was 2 1/2″ tall and a good 3″ long.  I had planned to make one pipe out of it, selecting the best figure and discarding the rest, but now I began to wonder…. Could I get two small pipes out of one block?

I drew out and then erased several designs on the side of the block until I had a plan.  I cut it neatly in half, so as to make myself two small blocks fit for tobacco chambers about 1 1/4″ deep.  (I am grateful for backsaws that cut thin kerfs!)  Here are the results:

This is my version of a Dublin shape.  It is made of plateaux briar and has a lucite stem.

This bent Dublin takes advantage of the natural top of the briar burl–called “plateaux”–creating a rough, irregular surface to contrast with the smooth surface of the pipe’s sides.  The lucite stem came from my first pipe kit.  I broke it while assembling the kit, and it has been lying around my workspace ever since.  I finally repaired it and fitted it to this pipe, which I think it fits pretty well.

The second pipe is a churchwarden.  Although I enjoy doing freehand shaping, I also need to work on making some classic shapes.  This is one of my favorites–the “apple” shape, which I should say doesn’t look at all like an apple to my eye.  Nevertheless, I find it a pleasing shape, and I think the grain pattern in the wood complements the shape pretty well.

As usual, these pipes are both available for purchase at my Etsy shop.

 

 

This entry was posted in Tobacco Pipes, Wood and Woodwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Conversation:

