Two More Churchwarden Pipes

Here are my latest two pipes, both churchwardens made from briar.

This one is my first attempt at using a stain on briar.

The color is not quite as even as I had expected, but I am pleased with the vividly contrasting colors.  As it darkens with age, the colors should become very striking.

The second pipe one was a total save.  The briar block had several cracks in it, and there were some deep flaws in the top, so I wasn’t sure if I could get a pipe out of it at all.  But once I cut around the flaws, I found some very fine, tight grain.

The bowl is small, as most churchwardens are, and the plateaux top is especially evenly textured.

As usual, these pipes are for sale at my Etsy shop.

This entry was posted in Tobacco Pipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two More Churchwarden Pipes

  1. Steve,

    The grain and colouring of the first pipe is vivid. Very nice.

    Chris

Join the Conversation:

