Two More Pipes

I have made two pipes in the last two weeks.

The first is a freehand churchwarden, which was a lot of fun to shape.  The textured top is the natural top of the burl from which briar pipes are made.  I decided to leave a little of the texture around the stem, too.

This particular piece of briar had a few small flaws, but it cleaned up pretty nicely, and the figure is good.

The other pipe was something of an adventure.  It all started with this briar wood blank:

.

The blank was originally cut so that the grain would run sideways, but it was thick enough that, when turned on its side, the grain runs vertically, which is more attractive on most pipes.  This is the result:

This is the twelfth pipe I’ve made.

I don’t mean to turn this into a pipe-making blog, but I’ve been making them because the work pays.  Eventually, I will post a short tutorial on shaping a pipe with hand tools, but I need to make a few more yet before I can be confident giving advice.

This entry was posted in Tobacco Pipes, Wood and Woodwork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Two More Pipes

  1. Joshua Klein says:

    Beautiful! I await a tutorial. I’d love to make my own. Mine has a bowl that is quite large. Great work, my friend!

  2. ezraboggs says:

    I’d be very interested in the churchwarden freehand pipe!

    Great work…please contact me with a price!

  3. Dave says:

    I agree they are very nice.

  4. bobjones2000 says:

    I’m not a pipe fan, but those look real nice. I’m curious to see how you make pieces so small.

  5. bobeaston says:

    The churchwarden is gorgeous Steve!
    While I quit smoking many years ago, I still admire the classic shapes. You’re doing great!
    .. and since pipes are no longer abundant in every drug store, you have great opportunities ahead.

Join the Conversation:

