Proof That It Really IS a Portable Tool Box

Travel Tool Box Carried 12-2012

My wife can carry my new traveling tool box fully-loaded.  I’d say it weighs 50-60 lbs with all the tools in it, so not something I’d want to carry around the house, but easy enough to take in and out of the van.

This entry was posted in Build-Alongs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Proof That It Really IS a Portable Tool Box

  1. sablebadger says:

    That came out nicely, and it gives me an idea for how to put together some tools to travel to my class with Chris Schwarz on making a tool chest. A tad ironic, yes, but I can’t just show up in cardboard boxes now can I?

  2. I recently loaded up my toolbox with all of the tools I would need on a job plus several extra for fun and it came in at 65lbs. I weighed the box on its own and that was 20 lbs. This was to be expected because I built the box to be more a cross with toolbox and mobile workbench. Still since today we aren’t carrying our toolboxes 10s of miles to a job site and just going from the car to job site, 50-60 lbs seems perfectly reasonable. What stunned me was that I had more space to fill if I wanted. It is amazing how many tools you can fit into a small space. More than I could carry.

  3. Brent Ingvardsen says:

    I like the way it turned out. Im still debating a design for mine. I built my son a box like Paul Sellers jointers toolbox. I may build one for myself.

Join the Conversation:

