New Series: How to Blog about Your Hobby

Over the next few weeks, I will be publishing a series of posts on how to blog effectively about your hobby. If you want to write a blog about your hobby, whether it is baking or book binding, fly fishing or photography, there are a few principles you should learn as an aspiring blogger. I will address topics like organizing your information, writing good titles, using photos and links effectively, and garnering a regular readership.

I want to explain up-front why I am writing this series. I am an amateur woodworker, and I have taught writing professionally for about ten years. I enjoy reading blogs by other woodworkers, but I frequently run across blog posts whose insights are marred by bad writing. It’s not just a matter of grammar errors or proofreading mistakes, either. When reading online, I keep a tight rein on my inner English-teacher-censor, and I do not critique others’ writing unless asked to do so. I offer this series because there are a lot of creative, talented woodworkers who would like to keep a blog but are unsure of their writing skills, and there are others who do keep a blog but fail to present their information as well as they might.

Good writing does not come automatically, nor it is a matter of being naturally talented. Writing is a craft like any other—it is a learned skill, though it comes easier to some than to others. Writing well is enjoyable for its own sake, but it is also a very practical skill. When you write well about a topic you enjoy, your readers won’t notice the writing at all. They will be carried along by your information, your personality, and your story. If you write poorly, however, your readers will be distracted from what you are trying to say. I want to help you write well about the things you love.

This entry was posted in Musings, Tutorials, Woodworking Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Series: How to Blog about Your Hobby

  1. rob campbell says:

    Great idea, and a most welcome one! [I am] looking forward to it.

  2. Hi Steve,

    I look forward to reading this series.

    Chris

  3. Great idea! I look forward to reading more. Maybe I’ll pick up a few tips myself 🙂

  4. Goodness knows my posts need a lot of improvement! I’ll be reading with great interest.

  5. I look forward to reading this series.I have just started a new blog about my hobby of woodworking. I only have a few posts so this may help. I’d ask if you could critique it… but there’s not much there to read yet. Thanks for this series. I’m sure it will be quite helpful.

    • I think self-critique is the best way to go, honestly. With practice and perseverance, you’ll soon develop your own voice on your blog. I hope what I have to say is helpful to you, but the most important thing is to just keep at it.

Join the Conversation:

