Tool Chest: Sliding Trays

In my previous post, I described the finishing of my tool chest.  Now that I have made the dovetailed sliding trays, the chest is complete. I built them from southern yellow pine that I sawed out of a 2X6.  The sides came out to about 3/8″ thick and the bottoms, which are nailed on, are about 1/4″ thick.  The trays are both 7″ wide and hold most of my smaller tools.

The top tray is relatively shallow–about 3″ deep–and holds my layout tools and my sharpening kit.

The bottom tray is deeper–about 5″ deep–and contains files, card scrapers, gauges, and a couple joinery planes.  The drawer sides and runners are waxed with paraffin so that they slide smoothly.  As with regular drawers, the more snugly they fit, the easier they slide.  I may add some pulls or knobs to the bottom tray later.

The top tray is just a little longer than the bottom tray, so as to make both trays easily removable.  The top runner also serves as a guide for the bottom tray, which runs neatly over the top of the saw till.

Underneath you see my bench planes, mallets, and a few other larger items.

The front rack holds chisels, gouges, and a few other tools of similar shape.  My joinery saws go in the till with saw sharpening tools and spare tool parts underneath.

Now my hand tools are at home.

This entry was posted in Build-Alongs, Tutorials, Wood and Woodwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tool Chest: Sliding Trays

  1. Pingback: Tool Chest: How to Install a Half-Mortise Lock | The Literary Workshop Blog

  2. rob campbell says:

    Very basic question, but in assembling and dimensioning these large panels, how did you mark the opposite edges once your true edge was established? It does not look like any of your panel gauges are large enough (and mine are not). I made do with a drafting t-square and a pencil held tight but I am curious what is more traditional or correct. My panel gauge has an 18″ reach and my chest boards are about 23″ tall.

    • I do actually have a panel gauge with a long arm, which will reach to about 30″ when fully extended. It’s one I made myself a few years ago, and it just fits into the bottom of the tool box. A panel gauge is one of those tools that I don’t use often, but when I need it, it’s the only thing that will do.

Join the Conversation:

