Screen Doors: An In-and-Out Job

One of my favorite parts of working wood is being able to make what I need.  When we bought our current house, it came with several very shabby metal screen doors.  After attempting to repair the closer on one and the hinges on another, I decided that a replacement was in order.  Since we live in an older house, the metal doors really looked out of place, so I decided to build my own screen doors.  I have never built a door before, but it looked easy enough.  I took a walk around the neighborhood to see what some of the other old screen doors looked like.  Then I collected some wood and went to work.

I bought a hardware set from a local home center and painted it.  Then I cut some screen to fit and attached it with a staple gun.  I was pleased with the results, to I decided to try another, slightly different design.

We had just replaced much of the wood on one of our porches, and I wanted a design to reflect the styling of the rest of the porch.

Each door took me an afternoon to build, and another afternoon to paint and hang.  The doors are constructed with hand-cut mortise-and-tenon joints at the corners, and the cross-bars in the center are attached with lap-joints.  The X brace on the first door is also lapped in the center and simply nailed into the frame at the corners.  The braces on the second door are also nailed in.

Now every day I walk in and out of something I made myself.  As George MacDonald once wrote, “Home is a place you can go both in and out of.”

Edit to add: I eventually had a little trouble with the front door, but got it shored up for now.

This entry was posted in Home Improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Screen Doors: An In-and-Out Job

  1. Pingback: Screen Door, Round Two | The Literary Workshop Blog

Join the Conversation:

